A message about support systems…

Sometimes its hard to realize what is happening in our own backyard…. This morning our class had the opportunity to visit Carmichael Outreach, it is a support program located in the heart of Regina who focuses on meeting the immediate needs for the less fortunate. Carmichael runs several programs and provides meals for those in need. Some of the programs include a needle exchange, art program, parenting classes, free haircuts, and food bank referrals. The director provided us with a tour of the facility and a lot of great information about the problems in Regina that those of us who are more fortunate so easily ignore. As we discussed the causes of these issues we talked about our personal support systems. Most of the people who access the services at Carmichael were people like you and me, who somewhere along the line turned down the wrong path, and unlike you and me they didn’t have anyone there to redirect them. 90% of the time, these people who we depend on is our families. I am so thankful for my family and friends who have provided me with the support I’ve needed to get to this point in my life, and who continue to do so. I love you all so much! Happy Valentines Day!

3 thoughts on “A message about support systems…

  1. Allie, your post speaks so loudly of empathy and gratitude. When I lived in Vancouver and would pass through the notorious “Hastings and Main” area of the city, my first thought was always, “There but for the grace of God, go I.” One of the most important steps in creating change is understanding. It is easy to sit back and ignore the less fortunate, or to assume that they are someone else’s problem. Empathy allows us to “be the change that we wish to see” in the world.
    I am also so extremely grateful for our family and for the friends that I have amassed over the years. I cannot imagine going through life and all of its challenges without the love and support of others.
    Thank you for posting this one Allie. It carries a very important message.
    Love you!

  2. Hi Allie!
    I wish that I could have come with your class! In my Exceptional Learners class, we had a man come in to speak to us about Egadz (spelling?!) about that program in Saskatoon. It’s where teenagers at risk an go to get way from things that are setting them back in life. They can live in a safe environment until they are ready and safe to go back to life in their home. I wish that we could have visited the place like you guys visited Carmichael Outreach!
    Kendra

Leave a Reply

