A message about reflection…

Well can you believe it.. I have officially completed my 3rd year of Education! I can’t believe how fast the time has gone, how much I have learnt, and how much I have grown this year. Thanks to some fabulous instructors, a strong support system of friends and family, and an entertaining group of Kindergarten students I can say that I am well on my way to become the best teacher I can be. As I look back on the year, I cant help but to smile as I think of the fun I had along that way. I think that is one of the most important things I will walk away with, learning can be fun and when engage in it with a safe and supportive classroom community it becomes memorable.
I have decided to keep this blog over the summer and into my internship to share personal reflections and realizations from my journey with you. I have to admit that when we were first given the assignment of creating a blog I was very hesitant. I didn’t know how I felt about relieving myself to such a large audience, but this experience has only helped me to grow and celebrate my learning. That is largely in part to three very special people. Erin, thank you for being a friend who understands me personally and professionally, I am going to miss you like crazy girl! Julie, thank you for inspiring me to challenge myself as a professional and opening my eyes to so many joys of this amazing career path, I have truly found a mentor in you! And last but certainly not least, Audrey. Thank you for reading and engaging with me through my blog, I never felt like I was writing to no one as I knew I could count on you!

I am going to try and blog as often as I can this summer!

2 thoughts on “A message about reflection…

  1. Allie – No! I cannot believe that you have completed your third year already! WOW! Time goes by so quickly.

    I am extremely happy to read that you are going to continue to blog. For me, one of the greatest benefits to blogging is that it takes on a life as a personal journal and, in your case, that could become a very useful tool for you as you continue your education and begin your career. It will be another source of reference for you as you plan lessons in the future. And it will make you smile as you re-read and remember events that led up to each post.

    And from a selfish stand-point, when you blog you share your knowledge and experience with the rest of us, and we all grow through your words.

    Allie, it has truly been a privilege to read your blog. I have enjoyed it immensely and I missed reading it when your life took you in other directions. I look forward to reading more posts in the future, and to seeing the world through your eyes, as well as those of the students you will teach.

    So happy that you are continuing this!

  2. Allie, I feel honoured to have shared this past year with you, and even more honoured to call you one of my dearest friends! I have no doubt that you will continue to grow into a phenomenal teacher. Your passion truly is contagious and I am blessed to have you in my life! Once I have children I will seriously consider a move to Watrous so that they can be taught by you.

Leave a Reply

