A message about what not to do…

As I was scrolling through my twitter updates this morning, I came across this great post… How You Can Avoid Being a Great Educator. The author provides us with 7 simple steps to being horrible classroom teacher.
1. Keep your head low
2. Ignore your students as much as possible
3. Don’t try anything new
4. Never ask for help (especially from your students!)
5. Keep your tips to yourself
6. Teach how you were taught
7. Don’t look at what your peers are doing

I found this good for a laugh after spending the past week getting back into a routine of reflection and beliefs about education!  Then I got to thinking about what this blog is really telling us. Here is what I came up with..

How to Be a Great Educator
1. Communicate
As educators, communication is an intrugal part of our lives as we build meaningful relationships with students, create a school wide community, and engage learners.

2. Take risks
Try new things, learn from your students, don’t be afraid to say “I don’t know…lets find out!”, use technology, be loud, challenge ideas you don’t agree with, advocate for social justice,  follow your heart!

3. Collaborate
We live in a world of instant and free information.. pay it forward! Connect with other learners and educators to maximize your own worldview and inform your students.

4 thoughts on “A message about what not to do…

  1. Love it! Not just lessons for educators, but for people in all industries. As I read through the 7 “What not to do” list, I recalled how often I made those mistakes in my first leadership job. I was insecure in my abilities, and rather than admit to that, I made each of those mistakes. The mistakes that I most often repeated: 1, 4, 6, 7. Though I eventually learned from my mistakes, I continue to feel bad for the experience I delivered to those who reported to me.

    Excellent post, Allie! You are going into the classroom far better equipped than I transitioned into management. Your strategy ensures that both you and the students will come out winners!

  2. You make some great points Allie! I agree that communication is key, and saying “I am sorry, I made a mistake” “I was wrong” and “I’m not sure either” are completely fine statements to say when you need to. Don’t be afraid to stand up and share your experiences with other teachers and with students so that collaboration can be achieved.
    Here is also a great post from an idol of mine – Vicki Davis – who wrote a post about 10 ways to be a terrible teacher!
    http://coolcatteacher.blogspot.com/2011/10/10-ways-to-be-terrible-teacher.html
    I really thought this hit home, as well.

  3. I’m hoping we can continue to collaborate for the next 30+ years! You’ve inspired me to get back into blogging…thanks again for all you do to motivate and inspire me!

Leave a Reply

