A message about the movies…

I love going to the movies.

The smell of buttered popcorn, the relaxed atmosphere, its enjoyable. I hated watching movies in school. They weren’t enjoyable, they were usually old, and purely “educational.” I usually fought to stay awake during these films. My question, why can’t the movies we watch in school be educational, and entertaining? They should be engaging and relevant to the lives of our students (as should all of our lessons!) So when I found out about this movie coming out in March, I was ecstatic!

I love The Lorax! It is one of my favorite Dr. Seuss books and I jump at any opportunity to read it to children. If you have been following my blog for a while, you probably noticed it pop up in pre-internship and internship.  The Lorax is a story of conservation and environmental harmony. It can easily fit into the ELA, Health, Social, Science, and Art curriculum. If you are going to buy one children’s books this year, make it The Lorax, I promise you wont regret it! So this is my question to you… would you show this movie in your classroom? Often times, new movies are seen as for entertainment purposes only, maybe viewed in the classroom on a special occasion such as a holiday party, but why not show this during your science class? I would! I can’t wait to visit my internship class and show them the trailer for this video, they loved The Lorax. This book taught them about loving Mother Earth, why not reinforce that idea through an engaging and educational video?

P.S: Looking for some lesson ideas to go with this book? Check out The Lorax Project available online.

5 thoughts on “A message about the movies…

  1. I agree. What is the point on showing dull (and most likely dated) movies if students aren’t going to get anything out of them?! Movies in the classroom can be (and should be) educational and entertaining! Now, being careful of copyright, that is a whole different issue…

  2. Allie, the trailer for the film looks wonderful! I agree that it would be a fantastic learning tool. The animation, the vivid colors, the sound are all so engaging – and really, shouldn’t learning to be “fun”? I think that some of the best learning opportunities occur in the least expected ways, and if it takes a move to get children to be more environmentally conscious, I don’t think that is a bad thing. I would like to be in your classroom!

  3. I actually showed The Lorax to my pre-internship class (the old vhs version!). My grade 1/2s loved it. We were learning about the environment and this movie tied in perfectly to my unit! It still gave the students the message I was hoping for, but it was more entertaining for them to watch that the old educational videos. I am excited to see how the new one compares to the older one, and look forward to using this tool again in my future classrooms.

Leave a Reply

