A message about the ipad…

Let me paint a picture for you…
Its Christmas morning in my house. Mom and Dad are having coffee in the kitchen when my brothers and I start to wake up. We aren’t allowed to go into the living room until everyone is up. Once we are all assembled in the kitchen we head to the living room where there are 3 distinct piles, one for Trevor (my 22 year old brother, he is an engineer), one for me, and one for Ryley (my 15 year old brother, he is 15.) My gift is MUCH bigger than these and I have no idea what it could be, so I go first. This is what I find…

Kitchenaid Mixer

I was pumped! I love to bake, and I have been dreaming about one of these for a long time! Santa really hit it out of the park this year. Then my brothers opened their smaller gift and they both found this…

ipad2

They were ecstatic! Everyone was happy and life was good in the Woiden house hold.

After my younger brother had spent enough hours playing on his new gadget and regained the ability to have a conversation he looked at me and said, “I can’t believe you actually think your Kitchenaid is better than our ipads!”  Now my boyfriend has had an ipad for quite a while so I knew what they were capable of and I was used to working on them. However, Ryley proceeded to show me the app store and I discovered  a whole new way of using technology in the classroom via educational apps.

This week Alec showed us some more great ways to use the ipad in the classroom and I honestly believe it can change the world of early childhood education!  I can only dream of someday working in a school that has access to ipads. So this brings me back to Christmas morning, what if I to had opened an ipad? Would I use it in my classroom? Well.. I would certainly love to have ipads in the classroom but would I used my personal one with children? It would be hard to hand over such a expensive, valuable tool that you had invested your own money in. What do you think? Would you use personal ipads in the classroom, or only school owned ipads?

6 thoughts on “A message about the ipad…

  1. As valuable as ipads in the classroom would be, I think that I wouldn’t allow students to use their personal devices unless I knew everyone had one. Not every child has personal access to that kind of technology, and I think it’s unfair to give the advantage to the ones who do.

  2. I love my ipad. I use for just about everything. They have awesome apps for teachers which I think is super cool. i honestly don’t think I would let my students use it only because I use it for my own private use, and some of my apps don’t have passwords or anything like that. They one app I want to definitely try out is TeacherPal, so I’m excited to get into a classroom and try it out!

  3. Thanks for your feedback!
    @Deborah I understand where you are coming from, but I believe in the ideas of equity not equality. Everyone should have the tools they need to be successful so if an ipad helps one student and he or she has one, I’m all for it!
    @teacherintheprocess I think I am on the same page about it being for private use. Thanks for the app info, I will check it out!

  4. Wonderful story that you painted. I particularly loved your description of your 15 year old brother. Though I am not an educator, I have to say that I think that I would allow the children to use my own personal ipad if I believed strongly that it was the proper tool for them in that moment. I am with you 100% on equity.

  5. I would allow students to use my ipad if it was one on one work or if it was required for a project that students really wanted to do. For example my ipad has an app for making stop motion videos, if a student approached me and really wanted to make a stop motion video and did not have an ipad I would consider allowing them to borrow mine. I wouldn’t however have it accessible to the classroom at all times. It would be best if the school purchases enough ipads for classrooms to use.

  6. It is hard to trust little ones with valuable and expensive equipment that belongs to you. I think that it would be beneficial to allow the students to play with and explore what the ipad has to offer [especially if it is not offered in schools]; but, on a different note, I think that going over ground rules of how to respect and work with the Ipad is important as well!

Leave a Reply

