A message from one week later…

There is something missing in my life… exactly one week after the completion of my BEd here I am complaining of boredom. I know it sounds crazy, but that’s just who I am. I am happiest when I am busy, engaged in something. In an attempt to fill the void I started reading and researching, here is what happened.

1) I learned a whole lot about PWIM

The Picture Word Inductive Model (PWIM) is an instructional approach for
the teaching of reading that uses pictures containing familiar objects, actions and
scenes, to draw out familiar words from students’ listening and speaking
vocabularies. This strategy helps students add words to their sight-reading
vocabulary, as well as their writing vocabulary, and to examine and categorize
phonetic and structural principles present in those words

I was first exposed to PWIM during my pre-internship in a Kindergarten room in Regina. I think that this strategy has a lot to offer because it is cross-curricular in that the pictures can relate to a variety of topics that you are learning about and it is a fabulous tools for differentiated instruction. It lends itself so nicely to differentiated instruction because students can work at different stages and use vocabulary that is relevant and within their own reading level. The other component of PWIM that I am really impressed by is that it can be carried through from K-6, it has the potential to become a familiar tool for students to master yet always provides challenges. I didn’t have the opportunity to use PWIM during my internship but I am really interested in learning more about it in the future.

2) I started reading this book….
I picked up this book for free from the kindle store in January but I couldn’t seem to find the time to read it between my many textbooks and rushing through The Hunger Games series. I am only a couple of chapters in so far, but I think this will be a great book. (I am hoping it will help me through my #ecmp355 withdrawal!) I will keep you posted!

10 thoughts on “A message from one week later…

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the
    structure of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
    people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space
    it out better?

  2. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  3. I believe everything posted made a ton of sense. But, think on this, what if you were
    to write a killer post title? I am not saying your content isn’t solid, but what if you added a headline that grabbed people’s attention?

    I mean A message from one week later | Messages From My Journey is a little boring.

    You might glance at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news titles to grab viewers interested. You might try adding a video or a pic or two to grab people interested about what you’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it would make your website a little bit more interesting.

  4. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making
    my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

  5. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so
    much, However I am going through troubles with your RSS.

    I don’t know the reason why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else getting the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  6. I drop a leave a response whenever I like a article on a site or I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s a result of the passion displayed in the article I looked at. And after this article A message from one week later | Messages From My Journey. I was moved enough to drop a comment 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.

    Is it simply me or does it seem like a few of these comments look like they
    are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites, I would like to follow
    everything fresh you have to post. Would you list the complete urls of all your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

