A message about changes and challenges…

Well, I have been teaching Grade 3 for a month now and I have finally found a few minutes to update my blog. What has taken me so long? I have been busy loving this bunch…

My first day in Gr. 3

With only two months left in the school year and 4 years of classroom ideas building in my mind, I had to be selective with what I would be doing with my time. The first thing I did was rearranged the classroom and tried to change the environment. Here are some highlights.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The students have been working really hard on their writing. We are using a mini version of PWIM to enhance their writing skills and everyday we visit the “cursive corral.” I am the sherif in the cursive corral and the kids think it is hilarious if I have to give out a messy ticket! We have dove into an inquiry unit on “Pioneers” as well. We are reading Little House in the Big Woods, started a blogging project, and look forward to churning our own butter, and turning our classroom into a one room school house where we will follow their rules for one day.

One thing I have found challenging stepping into a classroom at the end of the school year is parent communication. The class was using agendas to communicate but not everyone seems to remember how important this is. I was looking for an alternative way to provide information to parents so I recently starting using remind101. This service sends the same reminders that go in agendas directly to parents cell phones. It was completely optional for parents, but I find it really useful!

One thought on “A message about changes and challenges…

  1. 🙂 The key is to be organised and you certainly seem to have been able to make significant changes in a short time. It can be hard stepping into the shoes of another, especially so close to the end of the school year. The “remind101” idea seems a good way for those who opt in. Many times I had parents say they didn’t receive notes from school.
    As I was often teaching Grade 3, I found, once they know you’re there for them, they can amaze you with their energy and enthusiasm.
    @RossMannell

Leave a Reply

