A message about tomorrow..

As the school year draws to an end, I was looking for a fun way to address some social justice issues with my Gr. 3 class. This is what we came up with…
After reading a collection of poems called “My Wish for Tomorrow” we took some time to discuss and study personal wishes and wishes that are for the greater good. Students then wrote their own “My Wish” poems. As a class we worked together to create this mural (I downloaded it here) and then posted our poems around the mural. It turned out great and we have people stopping outside our classroom all the time to read and admire our work. The poems allowed my students to think about others, and doing a class mural forced them to work collaboratively to achieve the end result. We had a lot of fun and I was very proud of them!

2 thoughts on “A message about tomorrow..

  1. Allie, that is awesome! I love the mural, I love the concept of the children writing poems and how you incorporated teamwork with individualized activity. Very creative. I want to be in your class!

  2. I love how you included social justice issues in your classroom, Allie! I am sure it made your students think – especially when writing their own poems! It’s also great that they are displaying their work for the rest of WES to see. You are doing an awesome job… and I know you will be amazing in Strasbourg next year – I will miss you in Regina! xoxo

Leave a Reply

